Another alternative to pouring medium

image1 (7)

I was asked about using Floetrol as a pouring medium and was interested in doing some tests. After the testing and a great conversation with the guys at Flood regarding the science behind floetrol, I found it to be a pretty good alternative.

Without getting into too much detail in writing, I put together a video explaining what they told me and a sample pour with a recipe for using floetrol. I am going to give this a try on some larger pieces I have a commission as it seems to work just fine under resin.

Take a look at the video below for a detailed explanation. There is a recipe in the description.

4 thoughts on “Another alternative to pouring medium”

  1. great dun stuff did you do the big canvas? I bought several & have been to chicken to pour on them. thx!

    1. Yes I do them on larger panels. These little ones for youtube are tests that I do for mediums or colors. I do larger pieces on panels I make rather than canvases because they are sturdier and hold resin much better.

  2. Great video on the alternative pouring medium and recipe. How do you clean the silicone off after the painting is dry?

Leave a Reply

