Goodbye Corpus

Clark

I never lived in Corpus Christi but it is a place I have always called home. My entire family is from there so by proxy I am essentially from Corpus. For the last 40 years I have visited this little town to see uncles, aunts, cousins and grandparents. I have fished its waters, hunted its lands, started cook-off competitions, built fences and driven dignitaries in parades.

I have not been to Corpus in a year. That was about the time my last grandparent passed away. This weekend I was in Corpus and realized how short my time there has been.  I also felt that I probably won’t be back for a very long time. Almost all of my family has moved away or died. The areas of town that I frequented are also in decline with closed shops, new construction and just a tiredness you see in small communities along Texas roads.

This weekend has been hard for me. I visited more family at the cemetery than at homes.  I miss playing chess and drinking scotch with Daddy Clark. I miss the cold peppermints in my GiGi’s freezer. I miss my friends that would laugh so hard we would cry and my family that always wanted to know what I have been doing in Houston. Most of a I missed the hugs.

I have a lot to thank for the people that helped me grow up. I guess that is what makes me so sad now. Those people are gone and I felt really alone in that crystal city by the bay.

God Bless Texas and God Bless Corpus Christi.

Leave a Reply

